Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Marvel Announces "Phase 3" Films in Development

Carol Danvers - Captain Marvel

Pardon me as I geek out for just a second... :)

July 6th, 2018, will be the release date of the first Marvel superhero movie starring a female super hero - Captain Marvel.

The news comes via announcement today of Marvel's Phase 3 movies which will include Black Panther, the Inhumans, Doctor Strange, Avengers: Infinity Wars and more sequels in the Captain America & Guardians of the Galaxy franchises.

• Captain America 3: Civil War on May 6th, 2016

• Doctor Strange on November 4th, 2016

• Guardians of the Galaxy 2 on May 5th, 2017

• Thor 3: Ragnarok on July 28th, 2017

• Black Panther on November 3rd, 2017

• Captain Marvel on July 6th, 2018

• Inhumans on November 2nd, 2018

• Avengers: Infinity War Part One in May 2018

• Avengers: Infinity War Part Two in May 2019

It's almost strange to note that so far there has not been a Marvel super heroine with her own film. Even Wonder Woman has gotten the nod from DC Comics for a 2017 film by now.

Also of interest is the character - having gone through several incarnations - began comic book life as a male, but the title was recently handed over to Carol Danvers in the comic book series and that's the version Marvel's going with for the film.

For those not familiar, Danvers powers include flight, super strength, and the ability to shoot energy bursts from her hands.

See you at the movies!

Concept art for Black Panther film coming in November 2017 from Marvel

No comments:

Post a Comment