Thursday, June 1, 2017

Obama: Decision To Withdraw From Paris Climate Agreement An "Absence Of American Leadership"

Addressing President Trump's announcement to withdraw from the Paris Climate Agreement today, Barack Obama issued a rare statement calling the move an "absence of American leadership."

Additionally, Obama zinged, "This Administration joins a small handful of nations that reject the future."

Here is President Obama's full statement:

A year and a half ago, the world came together in Paris around the first-ever global agreement to set the world on a low-carbon course and protect the world we leave to our children.

It was steady, principled American leadership on the world stage that made that achievement possible. It was bold American ambition that encouraged dozens of other nations to set their sights higher as well. And what made that leadership and ambition possible was America’s private innovation and public investment in growing industries like wind and solar – industries that created some of the fastest new streams of good-paying jobs in recent years, and contributed to the longest streak of job creation in our history.

Simply put, the private sector already chose a low-carbon future. And for the nations that committed themselves to that future, the Paris Agreement opened the floodgates for businesses, scientists, and engineers to unleash high-tech, low-carbon investment and innovation on an unprecedented scale.

The nations that remain in the Paris Agreement will be the nations that reap the benefits in jobs and industries created. I believe the United States of America should be at the front of the pack. But even in the absence of American leadership; even as this Administration joins a small handful of nations that reject the future; I’m confident that our states, cities, and businesses will step up and do even more to lead the way, and help protect for future generations the one planet we’ve got.

The 2015 agreement was adopted by 195 countries seeking to decrease carbon emissions and combat climate change.

Only two other countries, Syria and Nicaragua, are not part of the agreement.

No comments:

Post a Comment