Thursday, January 28, 2016

New "Reactions" Coming Soon To Facebook

Soon, you'll be able to do more than just "Like" your Facebook friend's posts. How much more? Huffington Post has the details:

The tech giant's chief product officer Chris Cox confirmed in a Bloomberg report that it's only a matter of weeks before Facebook users everywhere can hit the Reactions" icon.

Facebook announced last year that it would roll out "Reactions" buttons to accompany the familiar thumbs-up icon. Soon, there will be five emojis to represent "love," "haha," "sad," "angry" and "wow."

"Reactions" was first tested in Spain and Ireland in October. Then Facebook users in Chile, the Philippines, Portugal and Colombia got to try it. Soon, it will finally be available in the U.S. for the first time.

The company worked with sociologists to analyze the most common reactions across the social media platform to determine which emoji faces would make the cut. A spokesperson told Bloomberg that they decided to axe the planned sixth "yay" button, because "it was not universally understood.”

All of this comes out of Facebook users requests to be able to "dislike" something, like the passing of a friend's pet or losing a job.

Note: you still won't get the option to "dislike."

No comments:

Post a Comment